I completely beat my eating disorder. I now want to help other sufferers to beat their eating disorder.

A few weeks ago I finally made my re-entry into the real world. By real world I don’t mean the dark twilight world that every person who has an eating disorder inhabits. I mean the real world that lies beyond our eating disorder. For me, part of that real world includes work.

Many years ago I managed all social work in three children’s centres in Edinburgh. I had a lovely home and partner etc. I worked on the very frontline of social work dealing with the victims of sexual, physical and psychological abuse. In reality this translated into working with very young children and their mothers. It was incredibly difficult work but very rewarding when I helped someone escape their cycles of abuse.

Sadly ill health intervened and I slowly lost everything apart from my life. And one night in November 2007 I was almost taken by anorexia. I actually do not know how I survived, but I did. And it took me until just a few weeks ago to truly get back on my feet and get back into the real world. I gave up on the NHS in those years and resorted to paying for my own treatment.

I now have my lovely new office in the Derbyshire Dales and I am back in the counselling profession.

My service is called the Derbyshire Counselling Service .You can find me at  or derbyshirecounsellingservice.com. I tried and failed to create my own website so I called in the professionals and I am having a new bespoke website created and this will be live very soon at the same web address.

I know from personal experience that effective NHS provision for the treatment and support of eating disorders is virtually non-existent and I would really like to help the eating disorders community. Here in Derbyshire the NHS Eating Disorder service will not see anyone with a BMI higher than 15 and its the same in many other areas. This is appalling and excludes so many sufferers. In many ways it is encouraging people to lose weight just so they can get help. I expect that the NHS does this simply to save money and for no other reason. There are certainly not any tangible clinical reason for doing this

So what happens to everyone else who has an eating disorder and desperately needs help? The majority of them just have to go without treatment  and continue to live with the everyday hell and torment that their eating disorder inevitably brings. I would sincerely like to help as many of you as I can. My own counselling practice is open seven days a weeks. We are also open in the evening and early mornings and are a flexible as possible when it comes to finding the right time for you. The charge is £30 for an hour of counselling. In an ideal world none of us would have to pay for treatment, but,sadly, this is not an ideal world. Please give us a call on 07837259226 and lets see if we can work together to make your life better. Maybe you are a parent and your child is suffering from an eating disorder. I have my CRB certificate, which means I am police checked and cleared to work with any age group and any problem area.

I am a qualified and accredited counsellor, who starting working in this area in 1990. But not only am I a counsellor I am also a survivor of eating disorders. I completely beat all of my eating disorders. This gives me a unique advantage over the vast majority of other therapists and counsellors. I understand like no other exactly how it feels to live with an eating disorder 24/7. It never goes away, does it? I understand the terrible eating disorder voice that suddenly popped into your head without warning all of those long months and years ago. I know that unless you control, and get rid of this voice that you will never be free. I also know that you can’t imagine life without your eating disorder and the voice. Believe me there is a life beyond your eating disorder. It is not going to be easy getting rid of the voice and I guarantee that it is going to put up a fight to stay in your head. But unless you fight back it will control you for as long as it is inside your head.

I know that scare tactics do not work with someone has an eating disorder. It is pointless for me to tell you what are the consequences of starvation, purging, excessive exercise and laxative abuse. etc. You already know what will happen if you continue. And what effect does that knowledge have on your eating disorder? Does it make you stop? Absolutely not. And in spite of this, healthcare professionals still try to scare you into stopping.  I am not going to do that. That approach didn’t work with me. I will try and find out the real reasons for your eating disorder continuing to thrive inside your body. Together we will discover how control and eradicate your voice in your head. Its your best friend and worst friend isn’t it?

Together, let us try and set you free from the vice like grip the voice has on your life. No more searching for food, stealing it off plates. No more manic and secret exercising. No more getting weighed twenty times a day or feeling that your world is ending when an extra ounce shows on the scales. The list of humiliating rituals that fill your is endless isn’t it? It is time to say no more. You can fight back. Together, we can fight back! An eating does not have to be a life sentence

An eating disorder is a mental illness.  Yes this illness has serious effects and consequences on our physical condition. But unless the mental illness is effectively treated then it does not matter how much weight you put on etc, your eating disorder will still be there.

I won’t ask you to fill in endless food diaries after every meal. I won’t ask you to write down your feelings about food and body image. You will not have to fill out endless questionnaires in order to continue getting help. You don’t have to suffer the weekly torture of getting publicly weighed just to qualify for further treatment.

Above all, you don’t have to beg for help to see me. I know what its like to almost have to beg for help, only to be told by a cold and uncaring clinician that you don’t meet their criteria. I can still remember the humiliation of those moments as I sat sobbing.

My office  in Belper has excellent public transport links and is easily accessible by the nearby A38 and M1 motorway.

So make that call. Call me on 07837259226 and let’s see what can be done for you. It feels good to talk. It feels even better to feel better.

Carpe diem.

 

About Derbyshire Counselling Service

I am a qualified and experienced counsellor who started working in the field in 1990. I have been seriously ill and almost died from an eating disorder. Anorexia was my best/worst friend for so long. Now it has gone and its time to start again. I want to help others eat their illness. I offer a unique service as i can truly empathise with my clients and help them in a way that almost every other counsellor can not. I saw so many other people suffering so painfully and desperately and i witnessed and suffered some terrible treatments by healthcare professionals. I truly would like to let the world know how much we suffer in silence and try and and these indignities. I was ill for 20 years but my sense of altruism remains as fresh as ever
This entry was posted in counselling, eating disorders., Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I completely beat my eating disorder. I now want to help other sufferers to beat their eating disorder.

  1. The CoF says:

    all my respect !

  2. Pingback: Is this blog getting censored by the NHS | Getting a Life without Anorexia. Poetry and observations from a survivor

Comments are closed.